Andhra Pradesh MPTC, ZPTCs polls: Voting underway in 13 districts

New Delhi: After clearance from the Andhra Pradesh High Court, voting has begun for territorial constituencies of Mandals and 515 constituencies of Zila Parishads of Andhra Pradesh on Thursday (April 8). 

Around 2.5 crore eligible electors will vote within the elections for 7,220 MPTCs (Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituencies) and 515 ZPTCs (Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies) in 13 districts of Andhra Pradesh. The voting started at 7 am and can proceed until 5 pm.

A complete of 18,782 candidates are within the fray for Mandal constituencies whereas 2,058 candidates for Zila Parishad constituencies.

On Wednesday, a division bench of the Andhra Pradesh High Court had struck down the order of a single-judge bench which had stayed the notification of the State Election Commissioner (SEC) on MPTC and ZPTC elections.

High court docket choose Upmaka Durgaprasada Rao had on Monday stalled the polls for not giving 4 weeks’ prior time and mandated new SEC Nilam Sawhney to file an affidavit by April 15, IANS reported. Sawhney had earlier issued a notification saying MPTCs and ZPTCs polls. 

(With IANS inputs)

Live TV

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *