Gujarat Local Body Poll Results Today, BJP Anticipates Winning Streak

Gujarat Local Body Poll Results Today, BJP Anticipates Winning Streak

Results of native physique elections in 27 districts of Gujarat shall be introduced right this moment (Representational)

New Delhi:

The outcomes of native physique elections in 27 districts of Gujarat – which incorporates 81 municipalities, 31 district panchayats and 231 talukya panchayats – shall be introduced right this moment, with the ruling BJP desperate to proceed its successful streak and re-assert its dominance in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s dwelling state, forward of Assembly elections due early subsequent yr.

The get together romped to victory in polls held earlier for six municipal companies, successful 483 of 576 seats. Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP additionally made headlines after it gained 27 seats in Surat to close out the Congress and substitute it as the principle opposition within the metropolis.

Mr Kejriwal, who held a roadshow to have a good time the win, stated: “If we are 27, they are 93 (the BJP won the remaining 93 seats). Numbers don’t matter. Every man in our party is enough for 10 rivals. People of Surat have given you the role of opposition. Don’t let them (rivals) do anything wrong.”

“The public can tolerate everything but they cannot take not insult or arrogance. We must never humiliate anyone who comes to us,” he warned.

The BJP hit again through state chief CR Patil, who hastened to level out that a lot of different AAP candidates misplaced election deposits – forfeited when s/he fails to get a sixth of all legitimate votes.

This was the primary time the AAP, which fielded 470 candidates, had contested civic polls in Gujarat.

The Gujarat election can even be watched for the efficiency of Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, which contested candidates in minority-dominated seats of Modasa and Bharuch municipalities.

The get together additionally fielded candidates within the Godhra municipality.

Impressively, the AIMIM gained seven of the 21 seats it contested in Ahmedabad.

Meanwhile, the outcomes of by-polls to 5 wards in Delhi – three underneath the East Delhi Municipal Corporation and two underneath the North Delhi Municipal Corporation – shall be introduced on Wednesday.

The BJP – a comparatively weak opposition within the Delhi Assembly – controls all three of the nationwide capital’s municipal our bodies and, forward of full-fledged civic polls subsequent yr, will need a sturdy end in these by-polls to assist it problem the AAP.

Mr Kejriwal’s get together managed 4 of the 5 now-empty seats; they have been vacated after the sitting councillors have been elected as MLAs. The fifth was held by the BJP’s Renu Jaju, who died in 2019.

The two events – who maintain all 70 Assembly seats between them for a second straight time period – have traded accusations of improper improvement within the metropolis.

In the final full election (April 2017), the AAP pipped the Congress to second, successful 49 to 46 seats. The huge winner, although, was the BJP with 181 seats.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *